Monday, August 02, 2010

CHAINMAIL Headscratch Theatre

So...I don't get it. 1 figure = 20 men, right? And (for instance) each 4 light foot that attack 1 heavy horse roll 1 die, and kill on a 6 -- but do they kill ONE OF THE TWENTY HORSES THAT THE FIGURE REPRESENTS, or THE WHOLE FIGURE WHICH REPRESENTS 20 HORSES?

I dunno, man. I'm not stupid, but I feel like I'm missing something.

So the other week I read a battle report of an attack on the moathouse. (You know which moathouse. You read blogs like this one.) It sounded all cool and stuff and I thought, "Hey, I gotta check out the Chainmail, what with its ties to OD&D and stuff." So I got a copy and started reading, but I'm not quite sure I get it.

Why don't get it?